LIST OF LOCAL LANGUAGE FOR GDS ENGAGEMENT

S. No.	Name of the Circle	Name of the State/UT covered under Postal Circle	Local Language as prescribed by Department of Posts
1	Andhra Pradesh	Andhra Pradesh and Yanam	Telugu
2	Assam	Assam (excluding three districts of Barak Valley and Bodoland Territorial Council Areas) Three District of Barak Valley Bodo Land Territorial Council Areas	Assamese Bengali Bodo
0	Bihar	Bihar	Hindi
<u>3</u> 4	Chhattisgarh	Chhattisgarh	Hindi
-	Delhi	NCT of Delhi	Hindi
5		Gujarat	
6	Gujarat	Dadra Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu	Gujarati
7	Haryana	Haryana	Hindi
8	Himachal Pradesh	Himachal Pradesh	Hindi
9	Jammu and Kashmir	J & K and Ladakh	Urdu or Hindi
10	Jharkhand	Jharkhand	Hindi
11	Karnataka	Karnataka	Kannada
12	Kerala	Kerala, Lakshadweep & Mahe	Malayalam
13	Madhya Pradesh	Madhya Pradesh	Hindi
14	Maharashtra	Maharashtra	Marathi
-7		Goa Arunachal Pradesh	Konkani or Marathi Both, Hindi or English, and any of the 23 dialects (as per area specified)
	, Ē	Manipur	Manipuri or English
15	North East	Meghalaya	Both, Hindi or English, and Garo (For the areas covered under Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India in East Garo Hills, North Garo Hills, South Garo Hills, West Garo

			Hills and South West Garo Hills)
			Or
			Both, Hindi or English
			and Khasi
			(For the areas covered under Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India in East Khasi Hills, West Jaintia Hills, East Jaintia Hills, South West Khasi Hills, West Khasi Hills. Eastern West Khasi Hills and Ri Bhoi)
			Or
			Hindi or English
			(For the rest of the areas in Meghalaya which is not under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India)
		Mizoram	Mizo
		Nagaland	Hindi or English
		Tripura	Bengali or Kak Barak
16	Odisha	Odisha	Odiya
	Punjab	Punjab	Punjabi
17		Chandigarh	Hindi or English
18	Rajasthan	Rajasthan	Hindi
	Tamil Nadu	Tamil Nadu	Tamil
19		Puducherry (Excluding Mahe & Yanam)	Tamil
20	Telangana	Telangana	Telugu
21	Uttar Pradesh	Uttar Pradesh	Hindi
22	Uttarakhand	Uttarakhand	Hindi
	West Bengal	West Bengal	Bengali
23		Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Hindi or English
		Sikkim	Nepali or Bhutia or Lepcha or English
		Darjeeling Division	Bengali or Nepali
		Post offices under Gorkha Territorial Administration (GTA)	Nepali